Real or Not

bdd71256e7ff620b41635a6b1cd2d3f2

I think some forget about words. Well they forget the power that the words hold over us, and over others. I’m talking about the power we have to destroy someone with our words, and in a digital age that has become easier then ever. We can destroy people we don’t even know, and they don’t have to even know who it is that is breaking them down. I have a tattoo that reminds me daily that we all live and breathe words. We have words that lift you up, rebuild you, and even to love you. But it is so easy to go the opposite way to bring a person down, because you disagree, or what is worse, make you feel better about yourself. The old phrase “sticks and stone may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”  that is a lie words can hurt so bad they stick with you for years. I still remember being called ugly by some boys in the school yard when I was in third grade. Yes they were just little kids, but those words still hurt. This post is more then just about words it is about your image and how you present yourself to the world, and how the comments people leave affect you and what you share.

01

In the digital age we can show people only what we want them to see. Image is everything, and you have to present your life (as me and my friends call it) Facebook Perfect. You share pictures of a happy family, but in reality that family is slowly falling apart. Or a girl who is always seems “upbeat and happy” is actually thinking of taking her life, and she is screaming for help yet no one can hear her. Many do not take the time to actually talk to their friends on social media sights, they just like their picture or their status without actually taking an interest. I am guilty of these things as well and I hope to get better and getting past the facade of “Facebook Perfect.” Many people do not want people to get past the fake and see the real they fight so hard to make their life look perfect, that they just ignore the reality. Maybe this is a rant”ish” but I urge people to see the power of their word on and off line.

Words hold the power.

And we control the Words.

Leave a Reply

